Latest News:
  ..:: Home » Government ::..   Login
default text





City Budget


National Holidays

Prayer Timings

Public Services

Invest In Karachi


In 2000, the Government of Pakistan designed a new devolution;'financial resources and responsibilites'. This plan abolished the earlier second-level division and merged the five districts of Karachi into a Karachi DIstrict. When the devolution plan was implemented in 2001, this district officially became a City District, with the City District Government of Karachi handling its government, Karachi now has a three-tier federated system, formed by:

  • The City Disctrict Government Karachi (CDGK)
  • Town Municipal Administrations
  • Union Council Administrations

The City-District of Karachi is divided into eighteen towns governed by elected municipal administrations responsible for infrastructure and spatial planning, development facilitation, and municipal services (water, sanitation, solid waste, repairing roads, parks, street lights, and traffic engineering), with some functions being retained by the CDGK. The towns are sub-divided into 178 localities governed by elected union councils (UC's),which are the core element of the local government system. Each UC is a body of thirteen directly elected members including a Nazim (mayor) and a Naib Nazim (deputy mayor).In the local body elections of 2005, Syed Mustafa Kamal was elected City Nazim of Karachi to succeed Naimatullah Khan &  Nasreen Jalil was elected as the City Naib Nazim. Mustafa Kamal was the provincial minister for information technology in Sindh before assuming office as the city's mayor. Mustafa Kamal is advancing the development and has been actively involved in maintaining care of the city's municipal systems.

President of Pakistan
Mr. Asif Ali Zardari  
President envisions Pakistan to be a progressive, modern and moderate Islamic state, poised to take its place amongst  the developed nations of the world. more
Ex.City Nazim
Syed Mustafa
Prime Minister of Pakistan
Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani 
Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani was sworn in as Prime Minister of Pakistan on 25th March 2008.He was the Vice-Chairman of Pakistan Peoples Party and belongs to a prominent political......more
Ex.City Naib Nazim
Nasreen Jalil
Governor Sindh
Dr. Ishrat-ul-Ebad
Governor Sindh has promulgated an Ordinance to provide fort the establishment of an authority known as Sindh Technical Education... more

Muhammad Hussain Syed

 Chief Minister Sindh
Syed Qaim Ali Shah
The Sindh Chief Minister has restructured the Board of Governors of Sindhi Adabi Board, .... more

  District Coordination Officer

Roshan Ali Shaikh

HistoryContact us | CDGK Committee | ResidentsCDGK GovernmentKarachiVisitors | Business | Maps | CDGK Departments
CMInfo | Emergency Numbers |Webmail | Postal CodesNational Holidays | Online Forms | Residents

Copyright © 2010-2011 City District Government Karachi. All rights reserved.
The CDGK will not be responsible for the content of external internet site